Getting my groove back

So if you’ve read my most recent posts, you know that I started on anxiety and anti-depressant meds early this month and that those meds screwed with my ability to write. As a result, I had to bow out of NaNo less than halfway through with only 16K words remaining. That sucked big time. And while I still find myself unable to contribute to my NaNo project, I’ve begun a new project that seems to be working for me.

Because of the way my medication has affected my brain, my writing has shifted styles a bit. I now write a sort of dark, gritty, noir-style that I’ve never done before. And I seem to only be able to write by hand. Typing still feels blocked. Bizarre, I know. But the brain works in mysterious ways. I’m just really glad to be creating again. It killed me to have to quit NaNo and the prospect of not being able to write anything while on this medication was almost too much to bear (I say almost because my anti-depressants kept me from feeling too bad about it). I’m really enjoying this new story so far. It’s a lot of fun and I think it’s pretty interesting. It’s an homage to Batman, a character whom I love very much, with (hopefully) a neat classic superhero vibe to it. We’ll see how it turns out.

About J. R. Walker

My name is Josh and I'm an aspiring writer currently attending Southern New Hampshire University online to get my degree in Creative Writing. I currently have over a dozen short stories under my belt, as well as a number of novels in varying stages of completion. I have yet to be published but I'm hoping to self-publish within the next year or so. As a writer, I'm also an avid reader. My current inspirations are H. P. Lovecraft, Stephen King, Jo Rowling, and George R. R. Martin. Besides being a writer, I'm also a fairly decent knitter and crocheter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

