Election Day NaNo-ing

Boy howdy is today going to be a tough day to write. And I’ve set myself a slightly ambitious goal of reaching 25K (with a more moderate backup goal of 23K) by the end of the day. But with such a major event going on here in the good ol’ US of A, it’s going to be a full day of election coverage offering me a tempting distraction from my novel.

Coming off the heels of a particularly difficult day yesterday, I’m not looking forward to struggling with my muse for a second day in a row. I may just have to accept that my goal may not be met today. Regardless, by the time I go to bed tomorrow, I will have reached the 25K mark, which is completely on track with the pace I’ve set for myself this month, so it’ll all work out in the end.

So how do other people deal with your struggles? I find that my writing system is much different from others’. A lot of people shut off their internet and lock themselves away from all distractions, but I find I NEED distractions. External distraction is a killer for sure, but I cannot write unless I can continually check my Facebook and my email and my Tumblr and half a dozen other things. It’s part of my process. I take mini breaks from writing to let my brain cool off. I’ll write a few hundred words, check my Facebook, then go back. Write a few hundred more, update my NaNo word count, check Facebook again, then go back. Otherwise I start running out of steam and everything I write is rubbish. Sometimes, if I’m really struggling, I’ll stop and take a nice long shower. Those always relax me and help me get my thoughts organized.

Anyone else have other ways of recharging their creativity and maintaining their momentum? I’d love to hear them.

About J. R. Walker

My name is Josh and I'm an aspiring writer currently attending Southern New Hampshire University online to get my degree in Creative Writing. I currently have over a dozen short stories under my belt, as well as a number of novels in varying stages of completion. I have yet to be published but I'm hoping to self-publish within the next year or so. As a writer, I'm also an avid reader. My current inspirations are H. P. Lovecraft, Stephen King, Jo Rowling, and George R. R. Martin. Besides being a writer, I'm also a fairly decent knitter and crocheter.
This entry was posted in NaNo, NaNoWriMo, National Novel Writing Month, writer, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

