So far, so good

As I write this,  it is the morning of November 3rd, Day 3 of NaNoWriMo. I missed my Day 1 goal of 5,000 words by just over 400, so all in all, not a bad start. Yesterday was pretty slow up until late afternoon. The words just weren’t coming to me and I was struggling to get every paragraph out. I ended up writing what may be the shortest chapter of my life, right around 4 pages. However, I knew that my next chapter would propel my word count into the range I was hoping for. And as it happened, I was right. In all, I wrote 16 pages yesterday, with a word count within a hundred words of the first day’s tally. As it stands, I am at 9,072 words and 31 pages after two days. I’d hoped to top 10K by the second day, but honestly, I’m still extremely happy with where I am.

This NaNo is going to be an interesting one. I’ve never written a sequel without the benefit of the first installment existing in full before. I have no doubt that I will stumble a few times. Probably more than a few. But I’m not thinking about the difficulties. I’m just thinking about the story and the experience I’ll gain trying something as radical as this. If I can write a successful sequel to a book that isn’t even finished yet, that will open up my mind to endless possibilities. I’m looking at it as a writing exercise, something to work my brain and make my creative muscle stronger. And I already feel it working. I’m sure I’ll come across frustration later in the story. Maybe even sooner than later. But that’s all part of what it is to write. The highs are high and the lows are low. It’s a package deal. But it’s the experience as a whole that you look back on. So far, this experience has been amazing. I really hope I don’t eff it all up. :/

About J. R. Walker

My name is Josh and I'm an aspiring writer currently attending Southern New Hampshire University online to get my degree in Creative Writing. I currently have over a dozen short stories under my belt, as well as a number of novels in varying stages of completion. I have yet to be published but I'm hoping to self-publish within the next year or so. As a writer, I'm also an avid reader. My current inspirations are H. P. Lovecraft, Stephen King, Jo Rowling, and George R. R. Martin. Besides being a writer, I'm also a fairly decent knitter and crocheter.
This entry was posted in NaNo, NaNoWriMo, National Novel Writing Month, writer, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So far, so good

  1. Shelley says:

    let's see if this comment gets through

  2. Shelley says:

    Ah, good. Yes, you're probably going to run into frustration and blocks, but you've come a long way, and it's just the first draft, written under a timeline, so you'll have revision time later. just get it out now.Cheering you all the way!

  3. Thanks, Shelley. I'm not TOO worried about hitting the 50K goal, I'm just worried that I'll lose my momentum once there's no longer any sort of deadline or daily goal to meet. I need to find someplace online that allows you to set a monthly writing goal and update your word count and stuff. That's really helpful to keep me motivated and on track.

Leave a Reply

