It’s the final countdown…to NaNo!

GOB’s trademark intro, courtesy of Europe, is blasting away through the speakers of my mind as the final two hours and change tick down before NaNoWriMo officially begins. I told myself today that I would work on my book outline, maybe figure out what POV characters I’d be using and create rudimentary chapter descriptions. You know, just little things to help make the unorthodox task of taking on the sequel to a book that hasn’t yet been written. And I didn’t do any of it. Not even a little bit. I read the synopsis I already had and then went back to watching the Halloween movie marathon on AMC.

Oh well.

So this year, as with last, I shall be writing by the seat of my pants. Though I’m admittedly more prepared this year than last, given the inherent disadvantages of writing the followup to a story that doesn’t yet exist, I’d say I’m about even with last year in the unprepared department. And maybe that’s okay. I’ve always found that detailed outlining seriously restricts my creative process. I like to have a general outline, some landmark events and a basic story, and then just start writing and see how I connect the dots as I go. Some people can plot out their stories to the last detail, but I’m not one of them. Most times, I don’t know what’s coming up next any more than anyone else. I’ve always claimed that my stories write themselves with little help from me and I stand by the claim. These are living things that take on a life of their own. And that’s how it should be. Writing is a living, organic thing. I’m just there to add a little water and nurture the seed.

As with last year, I have a seed and a whole lot of enthusiasm. With watering can in one hand, spade in the other, I eagerly await the stroke of midnight so that I can begin the process of tending my little seed and encourage it to grow into (hopefully) a fully formed and coherent piece of fiction at the end of thirty days. We’ll see how it goes.

About J. R. Walker

My name is Josh and I'm an aspiring writer currently attending Southern New Hampshire University online to get my degree in Creative Writing. I currently have over a dozen short stories under my belt, as well as a number of novels in varying stages of completion. I have yet to be published but I'm hoping to self-publish within the next year or so. As a writer, I'm also an avid reader. My current inspirations are H. P. Lovecraft, Stephen King, Jo Rowling, and George R. R. Martin. Besides being a writer, I'm also a fairly decent knitter and crocheter.
This entry was posted in NaNo, NaNoWriMo, National Novel Writing Month, writer, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

